The Perfect Cast

Working on an L.A. Playlist for the Drive Out

Posted in Rants by Brandon J. Huffman on April 7, 2010

I know its a while off, but a good, themed playlist can make or break a long drive.  This is what I’ve come up with so far (mostly the obvious, in no particular order):

  1. Beach Boys – California Girls
  2. Notorious B.I.G. – Back to Cali
  3. Joy Electric – Matterhorn (not sure if this is a reference to Disneyland or not)
  4. Bright Eyes – June on the West Coast
  5. The Ataris – “Summer ’79” OR “Alone in Santa Cruz”
  6. Everclear – “Santa Monica” OR “Like a California King”
  7. Decembrists – “Valencia” OR “Los Angeles, I’m Yours
  8. Yellowcard – Ocean Avenue
  9. Sonic Youth – Pacific Coast Highway
  10. 2Pac – To Live and Die in L.A.
  11. 2Pac – California Love
  12. The Mamas and The Papas – California Dreamin
  13. Green Day – Welcome to Paradise
  14. Mos Def – Kalifornia
  15. Guns N’ Roses – “Welcome to the Jungle” OR “Paradise City”
  16. Weezer – Beverly Hills
  17. Phantom Planet – California
  18. Rilo Kiley – I love L.A.
  19. Red Hot Chili Peppers – Californication
  20. Less Than Jake – Hell Looks a Lot Like L.A.
  21. The Game – California Vacation [not safe for work, or most parents]
  22. Eagles – Hotel California

I know it’s genre-biased, and I’m sure I’m missing some Dre and Snoop, but this is what came to my head, or came up with quick searches of my library.  If you have suggestions, please post them here.

Tagged with: ,

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Rick said, on April 7, 2010 at 8:04 pm

    Damn, I was going to recommend Los Angeles, I’m Yours. You need to add California Sun by The Rivieras: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Yy57Xdk9u0o

  2. I think you know said, on April 7, 2010 at 11:41 pm

    *HISS*

  3. I think you know said, on April 7, 2010 at 11:42 pm

    Also, I think you should consider adding “You’re Gonna Lose That Girl” by the Beatles. Food for thought.

  4. #law tag said, on April 8, 2010 at 9:01 pm

    Montell- this is how we do it

  5. #lawtag said, on April 11, 2010 at 7:54 pm

    Doors – LA Woman

  6. Justin said, on April 16, 2010 at 1:58 pm

    maybe Smash Mouth – Pacific Coast Highway ??


Leave a comment